Land in the current hamlet of Ercildoun was first settled by Quaker farmers in the final years of the eighteenth century. In 1801 the current Fallowfield Friends Meeting House was built.
The hamlet of Mortonville was founded between 1767 and 1772 by Thomas Hayes, who erected a grist mill and sawmill where the Strasburg Road crossed the Brandywine Creek, on the east bank.
Hopewell Furnace showcases an early American industrial landscape from natural resource extraction to enlightened conservation.
Originally part of Hopewell Furnace and other area iron plantations, today French Creek State Park is an oasis for people and wildlife.