Downingtown Log Cabin
Downingtown Historic District
Downingtown’s origins are of a small village located midway between Philadelphia and Lancaster. The village was first known as Milltown since it was the location of the last mills on the edge of the unsettled western frontier. Thomas Moore erected ‘a water corn mill’ in 1716 and Roger Hunt established a gristmill in 1739.

Downingtown’s rich history is readily apparent to the resident and visitor alike as they travel along East Lancaster Avenue where numerous historic structures line the street.

Struble Trail and Dowlin Forge 

In 1785 Samuel Hibberd established Mary Ann Forge in Uwchlan Township. Mary Ann was a medium size finery forge with two water wheels, two tilt hammers, and three stone fireplace hearths. It was renamed when the Dowlins purchased it in 1801 and greatly expanded the operation. (See Uwchlan Historical Commssion)

You can hike the Struble Trail from Kardon Park in Downingtown to Dowlin Forge Park to visit the forge site, or drive North on Rt. 282 to the park located on Shelmire Rd.


Events